Trophy Trucks are the fastest class of off-road racing vehicles which are designed and built to resemble modern pickup trucks. Although any truck that meets the safety standards can race the trophy truck class, they, for the most part, feature long travel suspensions and high power engines. They are intended for desert racing, and most are not street legal like their practice counterparts, the pre-runners. Trophy Trucks can reach speeds in excess of 135 miles per hour even over rough terrain. This puts them among the fastest off-road vehicles in the world. The trucks are most frequently associated with the Baja 1000 race, series that have featured trophy trucks including SCORE International, and Best In The Desert or BITD, in which they are referred to as "Trick Trucks".

40 Trophy Trucks to roar at Baja 500

Leading over 275 race vehicles into the Mexican desert during next weekend’s 44th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 500 desert race will be a near-record 40 majestic SCORE Trophy Trucks, the marquee SCORE racing division--the unique class for 850 horsepower unlimited production trucks. Included in that austere group are the last nine race winners and 11 of the 18 former race winners in the magical class that is like no other in all of motorsports.

Created in 1994 by SCORE CEO/President Sal Fish, SCORE Trophy Truck features the world’s best desert racers and the field this year includes the SCORE Trophy Truck division winners from the last nine years: Ryan Arciero, Foothill, Ranch, Calif. (2003), Alan Pflueger, Honolulu (2004), Robby Gordon, Charlotte, N.C. (2005), Brian Collins, Las Vegas (2006 and 2007), B.J. Baldwin,
Las Vegas (2008), Rick D. Johnson (2009), Barstow, Calif., Andy McMillin/Scott McMillin (2010), National City, Calif. and Bryce Menzies (2011), Las Vegas.
The two other former SCORE Trophy Truck winners in this race entered are Curt LeDuc, Cherry Valley, Calif. (1995) and Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas (1996).

Stylin Trucks

As pre-running on the rugged 450-mile course continues in earnest this weekend for the second-oldest desert race in the world, Round 4 of the five-race 2012 SCORE Desert Series, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series, will feature over 275 entries, competing in 36 Pro and 7 Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, motorcycles and ATVs. The event will be held May 31-June 3 in Ensenada, Mexico.
Read the complete reports at the Trophy Truck news section here...